Monday, December 1, 2014

Car Of The Year and Truck Of The Year. So when's MOTY?

The Spyder Philippines Innovation Awards went to the Ford Ecosport 1.5 DCT
Recently, a group of motoring journalists got their excuses again for driving up late at night and dressing to the nines. The CAGI, or Car Awards Group, Inc., recognizes the best automobiles in the country for 2014.  The Car of the Year went to the Mini Cooper S, which is coincidentally the best compact luxury car of the year.  Its claim to fame was it's overall roundedness, with even emphasis on both styling and performance.  The Truck of the Year went to the Ford Ranger Wildtrak, which was described as a clean sweep to victory, as it also took in the best 2WD and best 4WD awards, winning 2 years in a row.  A new category, the Spyder Philippines Innovation Award went to the Ford Ecosport 1.5 DCT, for the innovative design that emcompasses more audience base in the motoring community.

TOTY - the Ford Ranger Wildtrak
COTY - the Mini Cooper S


Car of the Year - Mini Cooper S
Truck of the Year - Ford Ranger Wildtrak

Other Categories' Winners:

Toyota Wigo - Best Micro Car
Hyundai Grand i10 - Best Mini Car
Kia Rio 1.4 Sedan - Best Basic Subcompact
Honda City 1.5 E - Best Subcompact Car
Honda Jazz 1.5 V - Best Premium Subcompact Car
Mazda 3 1.5 S Sedan - Best Compact Car
Mazda 3 2.0R Hatchback - Best Premium Compact Car
Rolls Royce Ghost - Best Ultra-Luxury Car

Nissan Altima 2.5 - Best Midsize Car
Nissan Altima 3.5 V6 - Best Premium Midsize Car
Nissan X-Trail 2.5 AWD - Best Crossover.
Kia Soul diesel - Best Compact Crossover
Ford Explorer Sport EcoBoost V6 - Best Large Crossover
Suzuki Ertiga1.4 AT - Best Subcompact MPV
BAIC MZ40 - Best Micro-Van
Toyota FJ Cruiser - Best Large SUV
Isuzu Mu-X 4x2 AT - Best Midsize SUV

Special Awards:

Toyota Vios Cup - CAGI Motorsports Award
Honda Jazz - The SpeedLab Tuner's Choice Award
Volkswagen Touareg - The AAP Road Safety Award
BYD F0 GL-I - The Brother's Burger Value for Money Award
Rolls Royce Ghost - Filinvest Lifestyle Award
Volkswagen Beetle - The Manila International Auto Show Design Award
Honda Accord 3.5 V6 - The Caltex with Techron Green Award
Ford Ecosport 1.5 DCT - The Spyder Philippines Innovation Award

wow look at them sponsors!  congrats CAGI!
The Car of the Year Philippines 2014-2015 season sponsors are of Caltex with Techron, Filinvest City Alabang, the Manila International Auto Show, Worldbex Services International, SpeedLab, Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), Brother’s Burger, Victoria Court, Team Spyder, Columbia Sportswear, MG Madrid & Company, Icubus Solutions and Winner Graphics.

The Car Awards Group, Inc. is composed of the following media partners: Business Mirror, BusinessWorld, Daily Tribune, Malaya Business Insight, Manila Bulletin, Manila Standard Today, Manila Times, Philippine Daily Inquirer, The Philippine Star, World News, AQ, Brand Magazine, C! Magazine, Gadgets Magazine, Motorcycle Magazine, PowerWheels Magazine, Speed Magazine, TopGear Philippines,,,,,,,,, Auto Focus, Auto Review, Motoring Today, Stoplight TV, FM, Inside Motoring on DZRJ 810 AM, and #TheMotoringPage on Mellow 94.7 FM.

The Car Awards Group Inc peeps
Mr. George Chua of Baic Motors winning the best Micro Van for the Baic MZ40 
Yours truly, the Turban Rider
partner in crime, Mark Chuidian, marketing manager of Spyder Philippines
So, when's MOTY?